Home > Schedule > Health, accessibility and handicap

Festival des Arts Numériques Libres

Creating Accessible Documents, DAISY and Braille with OpenOffice.org and LibreOffice Writer

Speaker(s) : Christophe Strobbe, Vincent Spiewak, Bert Frees

  • Language : Anglais
  • Level : Newbie
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Monday 11 July 2011
  • Schedule : 17h00
  • Duration : 40 minutes

Place : Bâtiment Droit - 1er étage - Amphi Carré de Malberg

Abstract

OpenOffice.org and LibreOffice Writer enable authors to create accessible documents, i.e. documents that are accessible to people with disabilities, regardless of the tools they use to access content: a screen, a speech synthesizer, a Braille display or a special pointing device. Authors need to be aware of a number of techniques to achieve this, for example, structuring a document by means of headings, providing text alternatives for images and other objects, creating accessible tables, using colours that provide sufficient contrast, etcetera. An accessible document is not only valuable in itself but is also a requirement for the creation of accessible export formats such as digital talking books (DAISY format), Braille and PDF. OpenDocument Text (ODT) can be converted to a DAISY book with the odt2daisy extension, and to Braille with the odt2braille extension. Both odt2daisy and odt2braille are open-source extensions for OpenOffice.org and LibreOffice Writer and were developed at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium in the framework of the European project AEGIS. The presentation will also demonstrate accessible auhoring practices, odt2daisy, odt2braille and an open-source accessibility checker for OpenOffice.org and LibreOffice Writer.

Biographie

Christophe Strobbe is a researcher specialised in web accessibility; he has been working for the research group DocArch (Document Architectures) of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Leuven, Belgium) since 2001. He has contributed to the European projects VISUAL (2001-2004), IDCnet (2002-2005), BenToWeb (2004-2007), @Science (2006-2008), USEM (2007-2010), STAND4ALL (2009-2010) and eGovMoNet (2008-2010), AEGIS (2008-2012) and SSEDIC (2010-2012), and to a number of university projects with the goal to increase accessibility of the university’s ICT infrastructure. During the BenToWeb project he also contributed to the Unified Web Evaluation Methodology (UWEM). He has been a member of W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (WCAG WG) since April 2005, co-facilitator of WAI Test Samples Development Task Force (TSD TF) since July 2006 and member of the Evaluation and Repair Tools Working Group (ERT WG) since March 2011. In the AEGIS project he has, among other things, been involved in odt2daisy, odt2braille and an accessibility checker for LibreOffice and OpenOffice.org.

Vincent Spiewak studied informatics (Informatique, filière STL, spécialité Technologie applicatives) at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6 in Paris, France, where he started working on odt2book, the precursor of odt2daisy. In the summer of 2008, his project was awarded a Gold Award in Sun’s Community Innovation Program. In the second half of 2009 he continued developing odt2dtbook, which was renamed to odt2daisy. Vincent currently works as a software engineer at the Vision IT Group.

Bert Frees has a Master degree in Electrical Engineering from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. After graduating in 2009 he started working at the research group DocArch (Document Architectures) of the same University. He has been doing research on Braille since December 2009. He is developing odt2braille in the context of the AEGIS project.

Video

http://video.rmll.info/videos/2011-...

Attached documents

slides (english)
slides (english) (opendocument presentation - 3.8 Mb)
transparents (français)
transparents (français) (opendocument presentation - 6.8 Mb)

Accueil > Programme > Santé, accessibilité et handicap

Festival des Arts Numériques Libres

Créer des documents accessibles, DAISY et Braille avec OpenOffice.org et LibreOffice Writer

Intervenant(s) : Christophe Strobbe, Vincent Spiewak, Bert Frees

  • Langue : Anglais
  • Niveau : Débutant
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Lundi 11 juillet 2011
  • Horaire : 17h00
  • Durée : 40 minutes

Lieu : Bâtiment Droit - 1er étage - Amphi Carré de Malberg

Résumé

OpenOffice.org et LibreOffice Writer permettent aux auteurs de créer des documents accessibles, c-à-d des documents qui sont accessibles aux personnes ayant des handicaps, indépendamment de l’outil qu’ils utilisent pour accéder au contenu : un écran, une synthèse vocale, un afficheur braille, ou un périphérique de pointage spécial. Les auteurs doivent connaitre un certain nombre de techniques pour y parvenir, par exemple, structurer le document au moyen des titres, fournir des alternatives textuelles pour les images et autre documents, créer des tables accessibles, utiliser des couleurs qui fournissent un contraste suffisant, etcætera. Un document accessible est non seulement une bonne chose en elle-même, mais est aussi nécessaire pour créer des contenus exportés accessible tels que les livres audios numériques (format DAISY), braille et PDF. Le format OpenDocument Text (ODT) peut être converti au format DAISY à l’aide de l’extension odt2daisy, et au format braille à l’aide de l’extension odt2braille. À la fois odt2daisy et odt2braille sont des extensions open-source pour OpenOffice.org et LibreOffice Writer et ont été développé à la Katholieke Universiteit Leuven en Belgique dans le cadre du projet européen AEGIS. La présentation montrera également des pratiques d’écriture de document accessible, odt2daisy, odt2braille et un vérificateur open-source d’accessibilité pour OpenOffice.org et LibreOffice Writer.

Biographie

Christophe Strobbe est un chercheur spécialisé dans l’accessibilité du web ; il travaille pour le groupe de recherche DocArch (Document Architectures) de la Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Leuven, Belgique) depuis 2011. Il a contribué aux projets européens VISUAL (2001-2004), IDCnet (2002-2005), BenToWeb (2004-2007), @Science (2006-2008), USEM (2007-2010), STAND4ALL (2009-2010) et eGovMoNet (2008-2010), AEGIS (2008-2012) et SSEDIC (2010-2012), et à un certain nombre de projets universitaires ayant pour but d’améliorer l’accessibilité de l’infrastructure informatique de l’université. Durant le projet BenToWeb, il a également contribué à l’Unified Web Evaluation Methodology (UWEM). Il est membre du W3C Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (WCAG WG) depuis Avril 2005, co-facilitateur de la WAI Test Samples Development Task Force (TSD TF) depuis Juillet 2006 et membre de l’Evaluation and Repair Tools Working Group (ERT WG) depuis Mars 2011. Au sein du projet AEGIS il a, parmis d’autres choses, participé à odt2daisy, odt2braille et un vérificateur d’accessibilité pour LibreOffice et OpenOffice.org.

Vincent Spiewak a étudié l’informatique (Informatique, filière STL, spécialité Technologie applicatives) à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6 à Paris, France, où il a commencé à travailler sur odt2book, le précurseur d’odt2daisy. Durant l’été 2008, son projet a obtenu une médaille d’or du Community Innovation Program de Sun. Durant la deuxième moitié de 2009, il a continué à développer odt2book, qui a été renommé en odt2daisy. Vincent travaille actuellement en tant qu’ingénieur logiciel au Vision IT Group.

Bert Frees a un master en ingénierie électrique de la Katholieke Universiteit Leuven. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en 2009, il a commencé à travaillé au sein du projet DocArch (Document Architectures) de cette même université. Il poursuit des recherche sur le braille depuis décembre 2009. Il développe odt2braille dans le cadre du project AEGIS.

Vidéo

http://video.rmll.info/videos/2011-...

Documents joints

slides (english)
slides (english) (opendocument presentation - 3.8 Mo)
transparents (français)
transparents (français) (opendocument presentation - 6.8 Mo)